The American Chemical Society (ACS) Division of Analytical Chemistry has announced Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor Cynthia K. Larive is the recipient of the 2018 Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Analytical Chemistry. The Distinguished Service award is presented each year to “an individual who through professional service…has substantially and uniquely enhanced the field of analytical chemistry.”

Created in 1998, the award recognizes individuals who have attained significant achievements in one or more of the following areas: promoting analytical chemistry to the public, developing analytical chemistry research, building programs for the benefit of the analytical chemistry community, promoting the careers other analytical chemists, or improving analytical chemistry practice through chemical instrumentation.

Since 1992, Larive has been actively involved with the ACS and received the National Award for Volunteer Service to the American Chemical Society in 2015.  She also received the J. Calvin Giddings Award for Excellence in Education from the ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry in 2007, was the Analytical Division chair in 2013 and has served as an Associate Editor for Analytical Chemistry since 2015.

Her research in bioanalytical chemistry focuses on developing analytical methods for metabolomics and metabolic profiling and for the characterization of glycosaminoglycan structure and function. Larive has also been active in efforts to improve analytical chemistry instruction, heading the Division of Analytical Chemistry Education Committee from 2003 to 2007 and promoting the adoption of active learning pedagogies through her involvement in the Analytical Sciences Digital Library. 

Larive will be honored at the Division’s award ceremony at the Fall 2018 National ACS meeting August 19-23, 2018 in Boston, Massachusetts.


Let us help you with your search